What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Modifying IO-360 C sump for forward facing servo

jbasol

All:

I am a Cozy 4 builder that has run into a snag with my engine selection. I selected the IO-360-C1C after learning that the A1A required cowl modification for the intake pipes (the C series sump does not).

Now that the engine is bolted on firewall and I'm starting to bolt accessories to it, I realized that the space between the servo flange and the firewall is too small to mount the servo and get a tube up to it. I did notice that the sump seemed capable of supporting the servo on the foreward face though.

In searching for information on forward facing fuel servos for IO-360-C series engines I ran across some helpful information in these forums. It seems a number of RV builders have made this modification, so I'm hopeful someone will have drawings that I can provide to a local machine shop to have them modify mine.

Thanks in advance!

-John Basol

John,

Welcome to the VAF forum. Careful these guys may talk you out of sanding and into pounding rivets.

I recently saw a vertical sump IO-360 with a snorkel bolted on and the servo mounted to the other end in a horizontal orientation. Could you have something like that made up to put the fuel servo where you need it?

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the words of caution. :) They wouldn't have much arm twisting to do on me either. I'm pretty sure I'm trading my sander for a rivet gun on my next project.

I tried to determine how to put some sort of snorkle in place that would allow me to mount the servo below the sump. While it could be done, it would mean having the servo facing the rear of the plane instead of into the NACA scoop airstream. Just isn't enought room in there. :) I should have made my own cowls (heck, I made everything else), serves me right for trying to save some time with prefabircated parts.