What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How much paint

Nehi

I'm nearing completion on my 9A and getting close to the paintng stage. At this point I think I'll use a urethane/desothane by PPG .
How many gallons of paint are you guys using for say, 2 good coats. also any experience with the desothane ?

I have no experience with desothane, so no comments on that. I used auto paint that I can find in the local store. Here is my experience:

http://3limafoxtrot.com/painting.htm

Scroll down to the bottom of the page and you will find a list of materials I used. Keep in mind that I did it out door and a lot of paints got blown away.

I recommend

And this is using Valspar Polyeurathane...One coat on the bottom surfaces and two on the top.

its hard to stop yourself putting that second coat on the bottom but its completely unecessary.

I think I used about 1.5 gallons

Cheers

Frank

I used approx 1.5 gal.

I used SHERWIN WILLIAMS product intended for Fed Ex trucks. It's known as GENESIS 3.5 and thus far, it's been very durable. I used approx 1.5 gal.

HOT TIP: Paint the fuse while it's still on the rotisserie.

If you want more details, pls pm me. I have lots of pics.

I used SHERWIN WILLIAMS product intended for Fed Ex trucks. It's known as GENESIS 3.5 and thus far, it's been very durable. I used approx 1.5 gal.

And I'm certainly happy with my SW Genesis paint. It's been nearly two years & very durable.

L.Adamson --- RV6A

Painting teniques and equiptment will account for varying amounts. Generally, 1.5 gallons should be enough to apply 2 coats on an RV, using HVLP equiptment. If you buy a gallon plus 2 quarts, you will pay almost as much for the 2 quarts as for a full gallon so I would buy 2 gallons. You do not want to run out in the middle of the 2nd coat for lack of a couple of ounces.
Dick

And this is using Valspar Polyeurathane...One coat on the bottom surfaces and two on the top.