What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Oxygen Systems Close to Batteries!!!

rv7boy

Forum Peruser
Rather than move the thread over here, I decided to post this link to the thread over in the RV-10 forum. No matter which RV model you are building, if you are considering an Oxygen system, you should consider the thoughts posted in that thread.

Don

Rather than move the thread over here, I decided to post this link to the thread over in the RV-10 forum. No matter which RV model you are building, if you are considering an Oxygen system, you should consider the thoughts posted in that thread.

Don

This is my responce from the other thread:

I'm a heating contractor. I deal with natural gas, ignitors, etc.
At the moment, I'm not yet "freaking" out in regards to this installation.
Yes, there is some potential that a spark might exist, and the fact that an oxygen rich enviroment can make things burn faster. But we're certainly not talking aluminum dust as the flammable material; and quite frankly, I don't see much difference in moving the oxygen forward of the bulkhead or behind. Afterall, it's not like these bulkheads are totally sealed from the aft fuselage section.

Personally, I'd worry much more about my engine compartment going up in flames, than this installation.

P.S. --- I just realized that my 6A has it's battery in the cabin along with my fuel lines, aux. fuel pump and tank selector valve. My oxygen system is just behind the seat in the same cockpit. What about those batteries stuck on the firewall in the engine compartment?

L.Adamson --- RV6A