What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Painter

raudy

Hello everyone,

I've been painting planes for many years now having got my start as a base painter for Piper Aircraft, and have a custom shop located in Lake City, Fl. I use the new Dupont Aviation finishes. I am certified in PPG, House of Kolor as well and also have paint jobs out there from over 8 years ago using Imron - and they still look as good as the day I painted them. If I can be of help to anyone, I'll be happy to offer what advice I can.

Jason Raudenbush
[email protected]
www.customshooters.com

Raudy, excellent paint jobs from what the photos show! Thanks for the offer of advice, if I were anywhere near you I would be dropping in for a chat.

A question for you if you don't mind, I'm ready for paint and I have a good friend (pro auto painter) that is going to help me. He is used to shooting Sikkens (Akzo Noble) and wants to use that product. Yes it's expensive but he feels comfortable with it and says it's bullet proof!. What's your view of using it for airplanes?

Thanks, Larry

Question for you

Hi Jason,

I'm pretty sure I know the answer but what do think about some of these water based paint systems?

I used PPG base clear on my RV with good results.

Larry

Happy to answer questions

Sikkens I have never used it.

I did a little research it appears to be a urethane, I tried to find product data sheet but when I did it locked up my computer

Akzo Noble a U.K company also makes Dulux I remember shooting in early 90s on used car lot cars it was horrible but they also make Liquid Nail I like it.

I like to steer people to the best industrial- commercial type paints like used on semi-trucks or aircraft because lets face it how often is you're car going 200 mph

DuPont Aviation Finishes are Skydrol®-resistant

Let me give a brief statement on paint