What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Purge Valve Question

DBone

Well Known Member
I'm totally new to FI, so I'm trying to get my hands around what I need and don't need.

I had a deposit in at Superior for an IO-360 with the Precision Silverhawk FI. From what I remember figuring out at the time (a while ago), was that I didn't need any special plumbing and definitely nothing back to the tanks. I talked to Andy at Andair, and he knew exactly which fuel selector valve I needed to make the whole system work.

Fast forward to today, and I am most likely going with a Lycoming IO-360 with an Air Flow Performance system, and I am reading about the purge valve setup. I left a vm for the folks at AFP, but I thought I'd ask hear as well.

Will I need to buy any additional components to make the AFP system (with the purge valve) work, will I have additional components that I need to get rid of, or will what I have handle the new setup?

Thanks for helping a newbie out!

You should be fine with what you have, you will need to add a return line, this usually goes back to one of the tanks.

The return line is not usually valved, as it is not a continuous flow----just when in the purge position.

You could just plumb it back into one of the feed lines, but that will defeat the idea of running cool tank fuel through the heat soaked system on a hot start.

Give Don a call at AFP, good guy and very helpfull.

Good luck

You wont need Vans control bracket (VA-182?), as this is supplied by AFP. Others (me, other Checkoway followers), have plumbed the purge line back into one of the supply lines instead of back to a tank. If you purge to the supply line from the right tank (for example), and set the fuel selector to the left tank, you wont be recirculating hot fuel.

erich