What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Interesting Sites to visit

Vern

Well Known Member
{this is a re-post made in another forum-it has value because of SE sites}

USAF Museum/Aviation sites
I've been visiting the museum at Wright-Pat for many years (since the mid 60's). They have made huge improvements.My first trip there was aboard an AF C-47.

If you go, be sure to visit the auxillary flight line hanger where other displays are located. My logbook shows some time in the OV-10 Bronco at the museum. Makes me feel old! I can't walk among the unit memorials outside the museum without getting a big lump in my throat and a few tears considering the heroic crews and daring deeds commemorated by the memorials. Because so many men never returned, some of the markers are the only representative monuments to those lost.

A senior citizen in my church once owned the P-36 at the museum. He used it to commute to his crop dusting jobs. Eventually the AF made him an offer he could not turn down.He still has his CFI and flies when he can.

Down South, there are a number of special museums. One very similar to Wright Pat is at Robins AFB in Warner Robins,GA. It has many older military a/c. It has the same IMAX movies that are shown at WP and the Smithsonian, a great gift shop, and unless he's passed on, a genuine aviation character who once was affiliated with the Flying Tigers AVG in China under Gen Claire Chennault, General Robert L. Scott. He wrote a patriotic novel called 'God is my Co-Pilot.' He is/was the honorary curator of the museum and a very colorful gentleman with a lot of stories. Fly into Macon Municipal and it's about a 5 mile drive. There are signs on I-75 if you are driving.