What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Learning

rbibb

Well Known Member
AS I get older and more reflective I realize I've had some experiences others, especially those new to the game might benefit from. This is about one of those experiences:

This is a story about lessons learned. Or more accurately one lesson learned in a manner that forever etches somewhere in the cortex an image that, from time to time is triggered by some random event and flashes again vividly in the eyes even though the original occurred over a time span greater than the interval measured by turn of the last century and that of the guns filing silent at Appomattox.

I was 16 and had recently soloed. It was some few weeks after my first solo and I had flown with my father in his airplane (I thought of it as mine, too) what I considered to be a cross country from our home base at the New London, VA dragstrip (W90) to the Smith Mountain Lake airport (W91) even though the chart still shows the distance between them to be a scant 15.7 nautical miles. We always thought of it as nineteen miles or so even rounding UP to 20 as the Champ didn?t register knots on the ASI as to do so would have further reinforced in the pilot or, if so deposited as my dad as PIC would always do, the passenger relegated to the front seat of the 7AC where a better view out the front could be enjoyed along with a unfettered look at the cork float powered fuel gauge and the creeping airspeed needle that seemed forever to hover around 80 miles per hour no matter what you did to try to increase your cruise speed.