What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

transition training for a rocket?

conlimon

Well Known Member
so I'm in the extremely long home stretch (might be a stretch to call it the home stretch just yet...) of a 3+ year RV-10 build. I'm having fun building, but during that time, I've not had an aircraft to fly, so the flying has suffered greatly. Over the last couple years, I've flirted with the idea of buying a tandem seat aircraft (cause I want one anyway!) to fly around. I'm looking at 8's, 4's, but leaning toward a Rocket... but I'm a fairly low time pilot that's never flown anything faster than a Cessna. I'm smart enough to know that I'm stupid enough to do something dumb in an aircraft that's too advanced for me, but it also occurs to me that knowing that is half the battle. So is it ridiculous for a 200 hour Instrument rated pilot to consider buying and flying a Rocket? If not, what steps would one take for training to make this a safe endeavor? I understand that transition training for RV-4 flying is done in a 6 or a 7. Same for a Rocket? Does the extra power and weight of the 540 in a Rocket make it much more challenging to fly? Someone talk me off the ledge!

cj

Yes you can do it.
Folks over the years in and out of the military have learned to fly in much higher perfromance aircraft, much heavier, much larger, much faster, with lower time, with very good success. Its the skill you bring and the training you receive to transition to a rocket that will determine your ability to do it.
Go for it.
Block your ears from the neah sayers. Its been done many times. You can too after you assess your abilities and your instructors.
Best,

CJ,

The first question is how many of those hours are in Conventional Gear aircraft?