What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Help getting started with MT-AIO

JohnInReno

Well Known Member
I am just getting started with APRS. Passed the test and purchased the MT-AIO to use in a certified airplane while I build an RV9A.

I have not touched the settings that came from byonics. Flew around for 25 minutes today and only got 9 hits. The track is missing most of the data points that I expected. Where do I go from here?

http://aprs.fi/?call=N847X

The raw packets are:

2008-11-10 20:52:36 UTC: N847X>SYSSTQ,KB7NV*,SLIDE*,WIDE2*,qAR,KG7HH:`.Hvu#@[/"HW}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 20:56:35 UTC: N847X>SYSVTQ,LEWIS,WIDE1,CNABAR,WIDE2*,qAR,W7MJR:`.Ktu-L[/"ND}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 20:58:33 UTC: N847X>SYSYWT,SNOW*,WIDE2-1,qAR,KG7HH:`.K['\5[/"MY}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:00:34 UTC: N847X>SYTSTV,KB7NV*,SLIDE*,WIDE2*,qAR,KG7HH:`.J<0x1e>&sE[/"Oa}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:01:10 UTC: N847X>SYTSTV,KB7NV,SLIDE,WIDE2*,qAR,KB7PUX:`.J<0x1e>&sE[/"Oa}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:06:32 UTC: N847X>SYSWXY,SLIDE,WIDE1,MTOSO,WIDE2*,qAR,K6JMH-1:`.FQ&q_[/"Ng}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:07:08 UTC: N847X>SYSWXY,SLIDE,WIDE1*,WIDE2-1,qAR,KB7PUX:`.FQ&q_[/"Ng}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:12:32 UTC: N847X>SYSPXR,COREY*,WIDE1*,SLIDE*,WIDE2*,qAR,KG7HH:`.Irt^8[/"DE}KE7WPB
2008-11-10 21:13:07 UTC: N847X>SYSPXR,COREY,WIDE1,SLIDE,WIDE2*,qAR,KB7PUX:`.Irt^8[/"DE}KE7WPB

Hi John,
Welcome to APRS tracking. It looks like the Smart Beaconing is not enabled.
Can you take a look at your configuration and see if it matched the settings here?

In a turn, you should see a track like this one if your in good coverage.
Report back and we will continue to diagnose.

Best,

OK Ill poked around a little more.
I was not familiar with this unit.
You got this pre configured.
Probably means you have not configured a computer or serial cable.