PDA

View Full Version : Dynon autopilot is now for sale!


kboyd59
10-08-2008, 10:07 PM
Go to Dynon's website click on news and then articles, Dynon released for sale there autopilot and other hardware.

Pirkka
10-08-2008, 10:57 PM
Go to Dynon's website click on news and then articles, Dynon released for sale there autopilot and other hardware.

As I read couple days back that someone wrote that link should be always available - I fully agree. Here is the article referred above: http://www.dynonavionics.com/docs/news_autopilot_update.html

Brantel
10-09-2008, 07:04 AM
Cool! They added trim sensing and annunciation as well as added preselects to the AP74! Thats great!

Looks like they did a great job on the installation documents as well. Good 3D models/drwgs.

N941WR
10-09-2008, 07:35 AM
As I've hinted at in past post, this thing works great! The pre-selects and trim indications are just awesome!

There are some other features and functions of this unit that are just outstanding.

The trim indicator is cool because once you get the plane trimmed and turn off altitude hold, it will continue on straight and level.

There are a lot of user definable options, so when you set it up take your time to read and understand what they are.

dynonsupport
10-09-2008, 03:25 PM
Just a note that though we've started shipping autopilot servos/mounting kits/AP74 units now, the firmware update to actually turn our screens into the full-fledged autopilot is still undergoing the final stages of testing. We expect to have the accompanying firmware update sometime in November.

See www.dynonavionics.com for full details on the pre-release.

Alschief
10-09-2008, 06:38 PM
We ordered our 2 axis today.

RudiGreyling
10-10-2008, 01:38 AM
Excellent news.

I hope Dynon releases the RV12 servo and kits soon. The RV12 is proving very popular, and with a Dynon D180 as part of standard instruments an Dynon AutoPilot would be perfect.

Regards
Rudi

dynonsupport
10-10-2008, 09:01 AM
The RV-12 servo is the SV32. We don't need to do special servos for individual airplanes, we just need to know what strength servo an airframe needs. There is no mounting kit from us since that is supplied by Vans as part if the kit. Given that the RV-12 in the US is a E-LSA, it must be built to the manufacturer's specs, so Vans has more to do with allowing it than us.

That being said, they are absolutely supporting it. We have worked with them a lot on the RV-12 project, and I believe the mounting brackets are just designed right into the airframe. Not 100% sure yet how they are hooking to the control surfaces.

Greg Arehart
10-10-2008, 10:52 PM
Dynonsupport,

Can the roll servo be installed in the L wing rather than the R? If not currently, will this become available in the future (soon?)?

thanks,
greg

dynonsupport
10-11-2008, 12:04 AM
You can mount the servo wherever you want, but our kit only gives you the stuff for the right wing. It wouldn't take much work to make the bracket and bellcrank plate for the left wing instead, and the other hardware would be the same.

We're not planning on doing a kit ourselves for the left wing.

airguy
10-11-2008, 08:04 AM
There is no mounting kit from us since that is supplied by Vans as part if the kit.

Confusion reigns supreme...:(

I don't find an autopilot kit anywhere on the Vans site after a search this morning - am I missing something, have they not updated the site yet, or do you mean Vans supplies the mounting kit TO YOU which you ship with the AP? I'll be closing out my right wing by the end of the year, so I'm getting quite close to needing that mount kit and servo.

N941WR
10-11-2008, 08:15 AM
Confusion reigns supreme...:(

I don't find an autopilot kit anywhere on the Vans site after a search this morning - am I missing something, have they not updated the site yet, or do you mean Vans supplies the mounting kit TO YOU which you ship with the AP? I'll be closing out my right wing by the end of the year, so I'm getting quite close to needing that mount kit and servo.
Greg,

I believe they are talking about the RV-12 mounting kit only. Contact Dynon for the RV-9 mounting kits.

dynonsupport
10-11-2008, 05:33 PM
Bill is right. I was only talking about the RV-12. For al other RV's, we sell the brackets and mounting kits direct. We even have full install kit documentation on our site already.

amilder
10-11-2008, 07:12 PM
Is it still compatible with the Tru-Trak servo mounting? I put in a tru-trak pitch servo bracket when I was building the fuse.

airguy
10-11-2008, 09:03 PM
Bill is right. I was only talking about the RV-12. For al other RV's, we sell the brackets and mounting kits direct. We even have full install kit documentation on our site already.

Excellent. I'll be placing an order shortly.

dynonsupport
10-11-2008, 10:00 PM
They Dynon servos do still use the same mounting points as a TruTrak servo. If you happen to already have brackets for a TruTrak, they will drop right in. You may still want to buy the kit from us depending on if you have all the pushrods and other hardware.

RudiGreyling
10-14-2008, 02:27 AM
More information on the AP for the RV12 over here:
http://www.vansairforce.com/community/showthread.php?t=35082

Alschief
10-15-2008, 04:53 PM
We recieved our two servos today.
The documentation refers to an included CD.
We did not recieve a Installation CD.
The factory is not shipping A CD at this time.
They adviise that the support tab has all of the latest information.
http://dynonavionics.com/docs/support_documentation.html