What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Actual vs. Simulated

MSFT-1

Well Known Member
I have been flying for about 9 years and have about 1000 ASEL hours logged.

I have had my instrument ticket for the last two years.

My RV-10 with its GRT dual horizon Is and TruTrak Socerer autopilot makes flying in the clag mind-numbingly easy. I feel sheepish entering time in my logbook as actual just because I "controlled the airplane solely by reference to the flight instruments".

I am not sure what the guidance should be, but I think the "control the airplane solely by reference to the flight instruments" seems outdated because it is actually just as easy to fly in the crud now as it is on a nice VFR day (maybe even easier with the autopilot).

I am not sure what my point is on this post...I just know I flew home from Alabama a few days ago in the clouds for close to 3.5 hours and there is no way I will put in 3.5 hours of actual instrument flight in my logbook.

Thoughts?

You did it....

so why not log it. It does not matter that your terrific panel reduces pilot work load. Actual is actual. You can bet I would dang sure log it. Getting actual around here is almost impossible.

I've pretty much always had and IFR moving map GPS flying IFR, but hand flew for about 3 year without an autopilot IFR in and out of IMC. The moving map GPS made IFR easy but I just couldn't imagine hand flying in IMC with just needles. I consider myself spoiled now that I have a two axis autopilot and occasional, I do disengage it while IMC if only to prove to myself that I can still "keep the shiny side up." But then I quickly get bored and I reengage the autopilot.

Yes, log thetime since no one else there is solely controlling the aircraft, even if you are relegated to being a "systems manager."

Log it

Log It, Dano Wasn't that a TV show...