What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Finally Flying

F1 Rocket

Well Known Member
Well, today was the day and I?ve finally flown my Rocket. It?s been a long time coming and I?m just over the moon with how well things went. I am a relatively low time pilot (< 300hrs) and I had not flown much of anything thing in the last 4 years. I knew going into this project that the Rocket was going to be a big step up in performance as all of my time up to very recently had been in my Kitfox. In preparation for the Rocket I got myself back into flying by getting my biannual and high performance endorsement in a ?56 182. I know the 182 is not considered much of a high performance aircraft but compared to the Kitfox it was. This was also my first exposure to constant speed props. After this I got some dual in a RV-6 (10 hrs and 87 landings) with me in the right seat. In addition to this my brother has a really sweet Extra 300LP so I took advantage of any time it was available and flew it from the front seat. This was great prep for the Rocket as the sight picture is very similar (the Rocket has better vis over the nose) as is the takeoff performance (the Rocket beats it here too) and overall sound/feel. With all this recent experience I?ve been pretty confident I could handle the Rocket. All that I needed was a good day and that day has finally come.