What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Air Powered Airplanes?

Geico266

Well Known Member
Last edited:
I saw this baloney on TV a while back. They even said that the wheels would turn an onboard pump that would recharge the tanks so that you would never have to pay for fuel. I'm no engineer, but my feeble brain says that whatever energy I get from that compressed air would exactly equal the amount expended in cramming the air into the tank in the first place. I'm calling B.S. on this one.

I'm no engineer, but my feeble brain says that whatever energy I get from that compressed air would exactly equal the amount expended in cramming the air into the tank in the first place.

Sorry, wrong.

It will be less, no mechanical system is 100% efficient.

In theory, this would be very similar in operation to the re-generative braking used by electric/hybred powered vehicles.

Just a way to get back some of the potential energy in the vehicles inertia.

Guys, this vehicle is being produced already. This is not a pipe dream, it is reality. You plug it in to run the onbard compressor or stop at an HP air filling station, or have a HP compressor at home filling a standby tank.

Did you read the article?

Guys, this vehicle is being produced already. This is not a pipe dream, it is reality. You plug it in to run the onbard compressor or stop at an HP air filling station, or have a HP compressor at home filling a standby tank.

Did you read the article?

Mike S.,

You got me, it's a net loss.

Larry,