What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Lycoming O-320 power settings for break in

cleve_thompson

Well Known Member
I am nearing time for my first flight in a 9A with a new O-320 Lycoming engine and a fixed pitch Sensenich with a pitch of 81 in. I will need to run my engine at 75% power for the first 30 minutes but I can't find a simple way to determine this power setting. I plan to do this break in at 3000 ft. I have a manifold pressure gauge on an EIS. I would also like to know what power settings for 65% power for the period when I am to alternate between 65% and 75% power.
It would be great if I could just worry about the RPM's as I did in my little Cherokee 140 when I broke in an overhauled Lycoming O320. Would it be safe to assume that 2500 RPM would be close enough? I have never used a manifold pressure before.
BTW: I don't have a fuel flow monitor. I am not a very cerebral person so please keep it simple.

Last edited:
Hello Cleve

On my Cessna 172 with a new engine I did the following:
First 30 minutes - full throttle, don't lean, stay under 8000 ft.
Next 1.5 hours vary the rpm between 2500 and 2700, stay under 8000 ft and don't lean.
Until I had 10 hours on the engine I didn't do much leaning and not to much slow flight.

Have fun.

Kent

simple enough?

I am nearing time for my first flight in a 9A with a new O-320 Lycoming engine and a fixed pitch Sensenich with a pitch of 81 in. I will need to run my engine at 75% power for the first 30 minutes but I can't find a simple way to determine this power setting. I plan to do this break in at 3000 ft. I have a manifold pressure gauge on an EIS. I would also like to know what power settings for 65% power for the period when I am to alternate between 65% and 75% power.