What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV Buying Process

JerryG150

Well Known Member
I've been telling my wife that when the RV-12 is offered for sale, that it would be wise to get my order in very quickly. If I wait, I might be at the end of a long line and might not get the kit for several months or a year. Will that be the case if the RV-12 sales go well? How did ordering go in the past when a new model was introduced? Long wait times especially if the 12 is offered up in a "complete kit"? Or should I expect little demand until the RV-12 makes it to a number of fly-ins so it can be flown by the masses? I'm a certificated sport pilot and have been renting a Tecnam P-92 Super Echo for $89.00 plus tax per hour and driving 200 miles roundtrip to the Sebring Regional Airport from Sarasota, FL just to get to the plane.. So you can see I'm ready to pull the trigger. What can I expect when the RV-12 is finally ready?

Last edited:
Good Day Jerry,

You raise a very interesting question. My two cents at this time is basically that I have no idea :) Unfortunately, at this point, I think there are a lot of variables that will come into play that simply aren't known.

For instance, it still hasn't been decided just how the kit will be divided up. It stands to reason that it's not going to be the traditional 4-kit series that all other RV's share; rather, the -12 kits will be slightly more condensed.

I think that once more information is known about the plane we can possibly judge things a little better. At this point, it always seems that a new kit has a large initial "wave" of buyers, and then it slows slightly until people hear first-hand how the kit builds and the finished product flies. My heart still tells me that Van is going to sells tons of -12s regardless. I hope that once testing is done on the final kit version they put that CNC machine on overtime and get ready to make lots of kits!