What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How to take sunrise pics

petehowell

Well Known Member
I am getting up early to grab some flight time and pics of the sunrise here in Minne. Any tips from Doug or the other expert photogs out there? I am pretty new to the game.

I have a Canon Rebel XTi and a nice 70-200mm lens. I will be shooting out of the closed :D slider of my RV-9A.

Setting suggestions, ways to minimize reflections, any advice appreciated.

Thanks!

Pete, welcome to some of the most wonderful photography there is! Really clean glass on the canopy, wear a black T-shirt to minimize glare and set the camera on auto-everything. Image stabilization on the lens ON if you have it.

The secret is to shoot about 50 pictures - 1 of them will be awesome!!!

A little added RED and some creative cropping using something like the Picasa will really bring the picture out of its shell.

You're going to do great!

b,
d

I am getting up early to grab some flight time and pics of the sunrise here in Minne. Any tips from Doug or the other expert photogs out there? I am pretty new to the game.

I have a Canon Rebel XTi and a nice 70-200mm lens. I will be shooting out of the closed :D slider of my RV-9A.

Setting suggestions, ways to minimize reflections, any advice appreciated.

Thanks!

Have ya' got fall colors up there yet Pete? Fall is my absolutely favorite time of year back home, but it looks like I'm not going to get up there this year - just launched this morning, and tied up for the next 13 days or so, then turning around for the next one....gess I'll just have to look at my pictures from last year...or enjoy the ones you'll take!

Paul

Take lots of pictures & see what turns out...learn from it. One of the great things about digital is the camera saves all the photo info in the actual file. That way, you can go back & think about what you did...and maybe how to improve next time.