What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RANS S-19 Demo Flight

TThurston

Well Known Member
Because some people here have compared the RV-12 and the RANS S-19, I thought there might be some interest in my demo flight in the S-19 last Saturday. I'm a brand new private pilot, less than a week since getting my certificate, and all my hours are in the Diamond DA20-C1. Last Friday and Saturday there was a RANS fly-in at a little private airport about 40 minutes drive from my house (near Provo, UT). So I went.

I hoped but didn't expect to see the S-19 or Randy Schlitter (the S-19's designer), but they were both there. They'd brought two planes (the S-19 and an S-7) from the plant at Hays, Kansas, about 600 nm. I asked about flying over the Colorado Rocky Mountains, but from the way they responded, I guess it wasn't even an issue to think about.

As new pilot I just watched things the first day (and chatted with people). But the second day Randy was just taxiing in as I drove up and got out of my car. So I asked how one got in line for a demo ride. Well, the line was short; I was next!