What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Jepp Charts - Worth it?

the_other_dougreeves

Well Known Member
As a IFR student, I'm wondering what the general take is on Jepp charts vs Government-issue charts. They both have their pluses and minuses....

Jepps seem to be:
* Better organized
* Better depictions on approach charts (e.g., terrain)
* Everything comes in the mail according to the 56 day cycle
* More expensive
* Hard to go from one approach to the next if you've taken them out of the binder (vs flipping to the next page in the book)

What am I missing?

TODR

TODR,

I have always used NOS plates because when I was young and really poor, I could buy just the ones I needed, and they had all the information required. a dozen or so years ago, I decided to try the AirChart Systems subscription - for about $350, you get a bound set of Low Altitude Enroutes, WAC charts, and a full set of NOS approach books (in April or May). You then get updates in the form of a few pages every 56 days, and a 28 day postcard with interim updates. I only look at the updates when I am going someplace, to see if the there has been anything for my route - there rarely is. The updates are cumulative throughout the year, and it is amazing (when you get to the end of the year) how few pages it takes to give all the updates for the entire country. Really made me wonder why I had been throwing away all that paper every 56 days for so many years....

Bottom line - the NOS charts give me everything I need to know, and I like the coverage price through Air Charts.

Paul

Ironflight said:
Bottom line - the NOS charts give me everything I need to know, and I like the coverage price through Air Charts.

Paul
Good to know.

Some research on cost: