What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

static on radio

rstisser

My 6A has developed a radio problem in the last few days. I have an SL30 comm radio and a Pm3000 intercom. On startup I am getting static on the headphones and it is also being broadcast on the comm radio. The transmit light flickers when this is going on. It seems to clear up after 5-10 minutes and does not reoccur until the next flight. I am not a radio expert and need to call on those of you who are. Randy

Just a guess---------

The time sequence leads me to think-------------what electrical noise generating device operates for the first few minutes after starting, then goes away until the next time you start???

Two things come to mind----------starter is hanging up, lets go after a bit, or the alternator/regulator system is working really hard to replenish the battery after start.

Might be a good place to start looking.

One more thought.... if the battery is slowly dieing, the radios etc may be experiencing low voltage issues until after the initial after start recharging is done.

Last edited:
RPM above idle test...

Would starting the engine up and keep it above idle be a good test of the alternator/battery issue.

Typical startup:
start- rpm 800-1000

would getting the rpm upto 1200-1300 right away to see if you still have the noise provide any indication about the battery/low voltage situation?

Can you isolate the PS intercom to check the static between radios and intercom? Can you turn the radios off and play music through aux music to see if intercom has static separately?

I had a broken ground on the PTT line that caused the transmit indicator to blink and caused A LOT of noise on the pilot side. Is the noise the same on both pilot/copilot sides?? That will help track down from jack/mic per side to intercom issues.