What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Words of Wisdom: How to be around to see tomorrow.....

Phil

Well Known Member
First a little about me.

I'm a private pilot with 140 hours. I'm a VFR pilot and I'm half way through my Insturment training. I feel like I'm okay on the insturments and I feel like I'm a pretty good stick and rudder pilot. (Probably thanks to all the years of Microsoft Flight Sim when I was a kid :))

I (probably like everyone else) read accident reports - many of them. Every time I read them, I (probably like everyone else) think "What were they thinking?" or "I'm prepared to handle that type of emergency." Occasionally you hit one that will make you scratch your head, but most of them are pretty obvious.

Some of them have less time than I do. Other have more than 25,000 hours.

In the back of my mind, I have little doubt that our fallen brothers did the same type studying and felt the same way.

That scares me.

I know it's healthy to never let your guard down, and I doubt those before us knew they were letting their guard down.

So I'd like to start a thread of wisdom. I'm hopeful that ONLY pilots with 1000 hours or more will respond. I'm hopeful this thread will grow as a list of constant reminders that we can all review.

Here's my two questions to those of you who have been around for awhile.

- What steps do you take to reduce the risk of not seeing tomorrow?

- Here's the tough one. Where do you feel like you're taking unneccesary risks? AKA: Over the period of time you've been flying, in what aspects of flight have you found yourself cutting corners or not paying attention?

Hopefully a few of your thoughts or practices stimulate some productive follow-on habits for someone else.

Cheers,
Phil

Phil said:
- What steps do you take to reduce the risk of not seeing tomorrow?