PDA

View Full Version : Auto pilot source switch


Maverick972
08-27-2020, 12:01 PM
As it seems the switch is not allowing for the ARINC 429 signal to travel to the auto pilot. I believe I have seen a few threads on this issue previously.

What is the preferred switch for the source switch that most have used if I need to replace it with a new one?

Thank you, Sean

airguy
08-27-2020, 12:05 PM
Need a lot more information.

What EFIS screens are you using? What 2nd NAV source are you using? What evidence leads you to believe the switch isn't working?

Maverick972
08-27-2020, 01:06 PM
GRT HXr
Garmin 430W

Both units send 429 signal to auto pilot and the auto pilot does not get the signal from either switch positions. They may be crossed and just wanted to see if itís triple pole single throw that most folks use.

BobTurner
08-27-2020, 01:16 PM
GRT HXr
Garmin 430W

Both units send 429 signal to auto pilot and the auto pilot does not get the signal from either switch positions. They may be crossed and just wanted to see if itís triple pole single throw that most folks use.

I used a triple pole, DOUBLE throw switch. arinc A, arinc B, rs232 line into the switch; those three sent to either efis or (Trio) autopilot. Make sure arinc A out goes to A in, same for B.

Maverick972
08-27-2020, 01:58 PM
Ok, currently the RS232 goes direct to the auto pilot.
The ARINC data is going to the switch and I suspect never makes it to the autopilot...

Thank you

BobTurner
08-27-2020, 02:20 PM
Ok, currently the RS232 goes direct to the auto pilot.
The ARINC data is going to the switch and I suspect never makes it to the autopilot...

Thank you

RS232: TruTrak says direct gps to autopilot is okay. Trio says to switch it thru efis if using efis.
ARINC. Time to use an ohmmeter and trace wires. Make sure A goes to A, same for B. In software use Ďlow speedí, all 3 boxes.