PDA

View Full Version : AF-Pilot issues


philb
04-06-2019, 02:08 PM
Sent this to trutrak several times over past few weeks, and left couple of voice mails, but no reply - if anybody has any thoughts, welcome your input - it's pretty specific about the product, so realize their input is key, just can't reach them.....

Hi guys,
Have an AFS branded AF-Pilot, auto pitch trim, AFS 5600 EFIS, and GTN650. This question concerns ground check after initial installation.

Short question ? what would make the screen flash ?MAX AS? (max airspeed) when AP mode initiated while sitting in hangar?

Longer winded ?
When initially set things up, roll direction control backwards, switched wires at servo, fixed that. Working on pitch direction ? controls pitched down when BOTH ascent and descent dialed in ? no notation of ?MAX AS or MIN AS? on the screen.

I installed jumper between pins 1 and 2 to reverse pitch direction. Now, I get a ?MAX AS? flashing indication. Dialing in an ascent, it does command ?up?, but when I dial in a descent, it also gives me an ?up?. In looking on line ? seems like if the AP is detecting max speed, it will command ?up? as a safety feature, regardless of if you?re dialing in an ascent or descent.

Have not worked on the EFIS control, and I?ve reset gyros, and have traced all wiring as being correct. Have MIN AS set at 60 and MAX AS set at 200 kts. Aircraft Pitot /static system and EFIS airspeed is fine. Have tried with AP P/S system connected and disconnected.

I think the question centers around the faulty sense of a ?MAX AS?. Have not turned it on in flight yet, as have the panel apart for the trouble shooting.

Thoughts?

Phil Barnette
RV10
Salt Lake City

Raymo
04-06-2019, 02:22 PM
What is your VNE set to?

Your max A/S should be .95 * VNE, per the install manual.

Min A/S should be 1.3 * stall speed (VS1).

philb
04-06-2019, 02:58 PM
My vne is 200, vs1 is 60

I initially set up min as at 80 and max as at 190 (coinciding with manual recs), but then liberalized to 60 and 200 based on some posts in AFS forums.

Regardless, the MAX AS indication alerts at all of the values above (and I don't understand how when stationary!)

Thanks!

Phil