What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

385 coupled to 430W

Michaelpk3

Well Known Member
I recently installed a new 385. On an RNAV instrument approach without vertical guidance, how do you descend with autopilot on GPSS mode? It works great on airports with LPV but I couldn't figure out how to do a practice approach with LP?!? What am I doing wrong? This is my first time ever flying with an autopilot and love it!

Do you plug in approach minimum and 500 FPM prior to reaching FAP?

Mike

There is only vertical guidance on LPV, LP+V or LNAV+V, not LP or LNAV.

To "dive and drive", dial in your step-down and a vertical speed and the AP does it.

A comment about these approaches: LNAV+V (same rules will apply to LP+V) are really non-precision approaches. The Glide Slope is purely advisory and it is not mandatory to use it - you may "dive and drive" like a regular LNAV approach. IF you treat the intersection of the GS and the MDA as if it were a DA(H) decision altitude, then on rare occasions you will miss the approach, whereas if you flew it as an LNAV all the way to the actual MAP you might see the runway in time, and have the required visibility, to land. Pretty rare, but something to think about. Ideally your autopilot would level on intercepting the MDA, neither continuing down nor initiating a miss until the real MAP, but I don't think any are set up to do this (I may be wrong!).

Vizion 385 by TruTrac - a great little autopilot!

So can I hand fly the vertical portion of the flight with AP on GPSS mode? Or will it fight me?