What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Should I?

flydoc

Hello everyone,

I am seriously considering joining the ranks of airplane builder and would like a little advice. I have flown pretty much everything and I am now in a fractional ownership (OurPlane) with a Cirrus SR22. I am not too happy with the fractional arrangement because of plane availabilty. Do like the Cirrrus, though :p

I have decided on the RV10. My queston to all of you is if you think I can / should take this on. I have no experience building (except desks from Office Max), and I am going to do the QuickBuild option, which sounds like it is not too bad, but how is it in real world experience.

I will greatly appeciate any response.

Thanks,
Mark

There is a lot to consider when you lay out 100K to build a plane. Most builders have some type of craft experience. Model plane builders do quite well as do people with most any type of craft skill. I would suggest taking a weekend seminar like the EAA Sport Air RV assembly seminar. You will be able to make a small airfoil during the class using most of the tools needed to build an RV. Bring along a potential building partner, as well. A class like this will bring out your innate skills and best tell you if you should make the investment and procede. The smaller RV tail kits are a lot cheaper and would be the second less costly assessment of your skills. But the RV10 tail kit is a bigger bet to make at 3200 bucks.

Hope this helps,

Roberta

Do it.....