What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

RV access without ownership ?

speed

I am new to GA, not yet started my pilot training. Like everyone else I am looking to build a RV10 while I train and build hours. However my bean counter has been working on overdrive. Getting an RV10 is not the issue, its the month-to-month $$$ that seem to add up over time.

Can experimentals be rented? Borrowed? Short of getting a few friends to build and maintain an RV, how is the best way to leverage an experimental for intermediate pilots? I think, it was Jay who posed me with the 100hr minimum rule for aircraft ownership to be cost effective.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

godspeed said:
can you explain the 100 hour min rule to me.. just wondering..

Danny..

I am not familiar with the 100 hour min rule per se but it is fairly easy to put a pencil too it.

Rental
==============================
$100/hour x 100 hours = $10,000 per year

Ownership
=========================================
Per Rosie, $3600 the first hour and $42/hour after that.

$3600+($99x42) = $7,758 per year for the first 100 hours

But wait that is just operating costs.

What about the cost of the aircraft?

$60,000/20 years = $3,000 per year.

Rough estimate of ownership = $10,758 per year.

This is just about a break even proposition using these numbers. For each hour flown above 100 hours, ownership costs will be $42 per hour while rental costs will be $100 per hour. The more you fly the more you save :confused:

You can plug in whatever numbers you want and come up with a break even point.

Last edited:
That good !!!

Wow your good. Thats even better than I could have put it.

100hr is the break even point between just renting & owning (incluing ALL operating costs :eek: ).