What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Longest flight in your RV-10 ?

speed

I am new to GA, I know there is for more to fly'n than point A to point B.

However, I am interested in building an RV 10 to make the world smaller and see more of it. Is it ?practical?impractical? to use private plane for medium length trips 500-600 straight miles ? The seem well within the RV10 range to eliminate the need for gas stops. And the performance of the RV10 will keep air time to aprox 4-5 hours, which is where I get bored (butt ache'n) on our 11 hour car trips.

Any opinion, please share

longest flight

Practical may be hard to define in general aviation. It won't replace the convenience of a car. Depending on VFR or IFR and whether the weather cooperates your plans could get interrupted in an airplane. I have had 4 hr. trips turn in to 24 hr. trips due to weather. It comes with single engine flying. Build for fun, fly for fun, take a flying vacation. But don't depend on it to get you from point A to point B on time, every time. 600 mile trips shouldn't be a problem in most RVs. Longer trips are possible also. If you get tired of flying, just land and stretch your legs. Landing is the most fun part of flying anyway.

Having flown multiple long trips in both a C-182 and an RV-6A there is nothing better than flying vs. driving. If I am going more than 200 miles I never drive unless the weather is realy bad. Having said that I am an IFR 1400+ hour pilot.

If you look at VAFWWW travel articles you will get a really good idea of some great flying trips. North by Northwest is one of mine.