What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Question about Contactors

jrdalton

I'm just getting started designing my electrical system and I have a lot to learn. I have 'lectric Bob's book and have been reading through it.

My question is on Contactors. I know I need to connect the pos lead from my battery to a battery Contactor (using 4AWB welding cable) - and then run a 6AWB (or other appropriate sized) cable to my main bus from the pos terminal of the contactor (of course, I need to connect the neg from the batter contactor to the neg bus on the firewall).

Where does the 4AWG cable go from the contactor? Do I need a Starter Contactor, or does the solenoid on the starter serve this purpose?

I'm still figuring out the difference between a schematic and the actual implementation, which may combine several "schematic devices" into a single device (such as a regulator and an alternator together like the PlanePower alternator).

Any suggesions, beyond those in the aeroelectric book, that would streamline my design and reduc weight and cost?

Jeff
Building an RV-10

Contactor wiring

First, I suggest you subscribe to the AeroElectric Matronics list and do some searching there, and on Bob's website (http://www.aeroelectric.com/)

An 'architcture' shows what components are in your electrical system (battery, alternator, fuseblocks, circuit breakers, radios, lights ...), and how they are connected. Your implementation defines wire lengths and sizes (which depends on the length and current it's expected to carry).

For a typical system:
The 4AWG wire goes from Battery '+' terminal to one side of the contactor. The other side of the contactor goes to your main bus (probably 6 or 8AWG) and to the starter contactor (probably 4AWG) , and to the alternator (probably 6 or 8AWG).