What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Dynon Skyview autopilot

flyenforfun

Well Known Member
I have an RV-8 with the Dynon Skyview system that I have been flying for three years now and I have a problem with the altitude hold that I've had since day one. In smooth air the autopilot pitch axis pulses and it drives me nuts. I've gone through the tuning procedure many times and tried different setting but still no luck. The only thing the various setting seem to do is speed the pulse up or slow it down just a little. At any rate nothing seems to help I'm starting to wonder if its mechanical or something electronic in the ADAHRS or pitch servo.
Roll axis seems to work fine. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Matt

I upgraded my -10 to the linear pitch servo before I even flew, so I can't give a before and after comparison, but I can say that through a wide range of weights and conditions, I have been 100% happy with the performance of mine.
You might consider trading up to the linear actuator if you don't have it already.

"In smooth air the autopilot pitch axis pulses.."

This in not normal. Recommend sending Dynon technical support a note. Other than replacing the pitch servo in my RV-10 to the linear actuator (Dynon replaced for free), the Dynon autopilot has been flawless.

Carl

I get the same thing with my D-10A (as alluded to in my "pitch up" thread). Its either nervous and jittery like on a caffeine high, or too lazy and hunts for altitude with 100+ foot excursions above or below target. And despite the fact that I have the larger SV-42 and the torque set to 100%, it sometimes cant hold altitude in a 180 degree turn.

Very anoying. As a contrast, the True Track in the -8 is absolutely rock solid.