What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

ADS-B for D-180 panel

KRAUSEGB

Well Known Member
I am one of the early builder with a D-180 and Garmin 496.
Looking for options to install ADS-B BOTH IN and OUT.

Gary

The Navworx -EXP box will make you 2020 compliant and will display traffic on the 496 via the serial cable. It will display traffic and weather on the iPad through several Apps (not including Foreflight).

I decided to use one system for ADS-B IN/OUT. Initially it was going to be Garmin G3X, but got no response from the Garmin G3X folks at Olathe, KS. I went there for a seminar and qualified for a $200 discount.

One call to Stein and I ordered the Dynon Skyview system. I had a D-180 already, so I didn't have to rewire everything. The engine sensors plug could be used as is. I already had dual Garmin WAAS navigators.

I have been flying the Skyview for about 3 months now. It is a very nice system for ADS-B IN/OUT. I have no regrets.

All it takes is $$$$$ and a little airspeed to make an airplane fly!

I?m just starting to get educated about the 2020 ADS-B OUT mandate. My RV-12 is an early SN and has Dynon D-180, Garmin 296, and Garmin GTX327. I also fly with a mini iPad w/ ForeFlight. I?m hoping there will be simple retrofit units such as the NavWorx ADS600-EXP within the next few years. I have looked at the installation manual for the ADS600-EXP and it appears the GPS and UAT antennas are not included and are a substantial added cost.

As stated above, I?m just starting to research my options. I?ll bookmark this thread and follow developments. I?m going to KOSH this year so I suspect there will be a lot of information being disseminated by various manufactures. Anyway, I?m all ears?