What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Cowl / fuselage interface - help please?

Steve Sampson

Well Known Member
Having attached the cowl hinge to the firewall, today I inserted the cowl half of the hinge. See here I then realised the reason why, in all RV except the -4, the upper part of the firewall slopes forward. My hinge assumes the cowl is a cylinder, not a cone. (I hope that is clear!)

Question - how have other -4 builders handled this issue? I can probably borrow a shrinker. Would this solve it? Ideas please.

Thanks.

Last edited:
I remembered this topic from my old mid-1990's RV6 plan book, which has both types of firewalls, and just re-read the instructions. For the straight firewall, it suggested shrinking, fluting, or notching the forward hinge half.

At least your on the right track. BTW, my 6A had the angled firewall, so I have no firsthand experience. :)

L.Adamson

Firewall cowl hinge

L - thanks for the advice. It is a shame VANS did not leave/put that bit of info in the -4 build book. Never mind. I did in fact try fluting a spare bit of hinge the other day, but the hinge was far to heavy grade for my fluting pliers.

I will try to borrow a shrinker. Failing that I guess it is notching.

Thanks again.

If you're talking about the upper part of the hing, and not the sides, you need to file the edges of the hinge eyes, to that they're taperd. (Sort of like the way gears mesh). Then use a smaller diameter piano wire when you attach the cowl to the firewall. This smaller diameter wire is included in the kit.

This may or may not be what you were referring to...

Jeff

And no, the cowl is not fun, and it's about to get less fun. Enjoy.
MUCH worse than the canopy or tanks, IMHO