What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How big of a deal is this?

Shadetree

Well Known Member
I am new to the experimental scene and trying to buy a RV8A that does not have an autopilot. The plane I am looking at has a Dynon D180, SL40, garmin handheld. I want to install a autopilot and have been looking at the Dynon site trying to understand what I need in order to have a 2 axis system. it would appear that I would need to purchase the AP74 and of course the servo's.
My questions are, 1) will I need the HSI module? 2) how bid an ordeal is it to add the autopilot and other items? and, 3) should I consider a different autopilot and servo's?
I appreciate any feedback you have.

All you need is the servos and the install kits. The auto pilot controls are all in the D180.

The AP74 gives you quicker access to auto pilot functions, but it adds no functionality.

He HS34 gives you an extra set of knobs, but it is basically an ARINC adapter. None of your instruments use ARINC, so it is not needed. You can connect your Gaemin handheld to the D180 via RS232 (which is the only format the GPS talks in).

I didn't answer your 2nd and 3rd questions.