What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Fifth Point Install

Bayou Bert

Well Known Member
I have no experience using or installing a fifth point.
I am now to that point on my 9A. I installed the hardware a good while
back and now it's time to install the belt.
It's looks too long. I have Crow belts and I have both adjustments all the way
to the double webbing.
The lower adjust, just above the seat floor, I guess you never fool with it.
Does it go under some of the seat or come straight up to the buckle at the
back of the seat notch?
Both photos belt is as short as it can go.
What do I have wrong or don't understand.
I did not sit in the seat.
I have the rotary buckle, is it supposed to sit in your lap waist high?
Sure would appreciate some direction.

Hey Bert,
Looks like your getting close. I have the five point Crows and I don't remember the double strap being a problem.
Yes the strap is very short and will usually never get adjusted. Those look like Classic Aero seats so they should have a slot about 4" back from the notch.
I would have to get to my the plane and have a look to do any better.

Hey Bert,
I have an idea. Call me. I sent a PM.

The Crow belts that I have don't have the adjustment on the crotch strap, just the lap belts and shoulder belts.

IMG_0257-M.jpg

I drilled new correct size holes for the lap belts to mount on the brackets. The holes that come from Crow on the metal mounting tabs are way too big for an AN4 bolt.

IMG_4593-M.jpg

The bottom seat foam got a slit cut into it for the crotch strap to come up straight through.

IMG_6260-M.jpg

You can see the crotch strap only has the one adjustment that is fixed. It comes up through the bottom seat pad and once you get it correct for you, it shouldn't have to be adjusted any more. I have a little bit more length on the passenger side, since my passengers are usually a bit larger than I.

Hi Bert,