What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Garmin AP Disconnect Q.

Captain_John

Well Known Member
Hey guys, I am going to ask the obvious. I suspect that I am right but want to ask anyways.

I have reviewed the G3X Manual and it doesn't seem to show a disconnect function for the servos.

As a paranoid pilot, I would like one. Not because the servos will go hard over on me. Highly unlikely, but what is more likely is that I will be running on AP and want to go somewhere else immediately.

I have installed a switch in series with the servo feed(s) and plan on depriving the servos of power in a disconnect situation.

I don't see anything wrong with this, but was wondering if it would cause a disruption in the space/time continuum.

Thoughts???

Also, Q2: The servos are supposed to be on 5 amp overcurrent protection devices. Does this mean I should bump the circuit rating to 10 amperes?

Thanks!

:rolleyes: CJ

CJ, review section 9.5.2.4 of the latest version of the install manual for info on the disconnect switch. Standard practice is to both have a switchabe power supply, often as a pullable breaker, and a disconnect switch that activates an switch internal to the system.

Good Luck, A

As a paranoid pilot, I would like one. Not because the servos will go hard over on me. Highly unlikely, but what is more likely is that I will be running on AP and want to go somewhere else immediately.

This is exactly what the A/P disconnect (or CSS) switch is for. On the stick - instant disconnect.

Hello John,

Yes, an autopilot disconnect button is supported by the GSA 28 servos, and is highly recommended. This input can optionally be used for Control Wheel Steering (CWS) functionality as well. Provisioning for a pullable circuit breaker or power switch for autopilot servos is optional but certainly doesn't hurt; my airplane has one.