What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

TruTrak Heading Hold Issue

Toobuilder

Well Known Member
I've been flying behind a DGSV II for several years and thousands of miles of rock solid performance until yesterday. The 1 hour flight to Vegas found the roll wandering constantly up to about 5 degrees either side of level. This oscillation took about 2 seconds to cycle. It only does this when tracking a flight plan, and I did try an in flight reboot.

I'm thinking there is a setting I can change, but my real question is why did this behavior show up? Nothing has changed on the airplane other than re - rigging the rudder hinges.

Thoughts are appreciated.

What GPS source are you using? I encountered a horizontal oscillation issue a couple months back. Turned out there was a firmware update for the Garmin GPS that fixed the issue.

Out of curiosity, did you try ground based nav sources or simply heading mode? Results?
My thinking is this. If the aircraft exhibits the same symptoms in all AP modes then I would be looking for issues at the AP (computer, servos etc). If the symptoms only appear while tracking GPS based nav I would be looking at the GPS itself or the data bus from the GPS to the AP. Another very simple possibility is there could have been a GPS coverage issue. Not uncommon in that neck of the woods.

Check your control system and A/P servo mountings for anything that may have become loose. If something is loose, the servo will be constantly adjusting back and forth to compensate for the slop in the system.

Jon D.

So, you're seeing this ONLY in GPSS mode? (also shown as EXT LS on the AP display). What does it do in TRK mode?

Check the servo

Mine was doing this exact same thing recently and it turned out to be the servo. Lucas and gang fixed it rather quickly. :)
Lucas is right to have you check it in both GPSS and TRK mode. That confirmed it for me.

Vic