What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

Undercarriage Report

Ironflight

VAF Moderator / Line Boy
Mentor
With 230 hours and about 350 landings on my RV-8, the Valkyrie, I decided that I had put enough wear on the outside of the tires, and it was time to start working on the other half of the tread! My tires are retreaded AirHawk's from Desser (I've been using these on my airplanes for over 20 years, and getting good service!), and I installed this pair at about 50 hours total airframe time. Seeing as how the wear on the outside was nice and even, I expect to get the same wear on the inside (which is now the outside...), for an expected lifetime of about 360 hours. I'm also using the Michelin Air Stop tubes, and only have to add about 1 psi every two or three months.

Since it was raining hard this morning, I figure this was a good chance to do the work. I removed both wheel pants, and noted no wear (I was wondering if I would see any rubbing from the brake assemblies, as many people have had interference that required them to install a blister),so I guess I was lucky with my fit. Jacking up one side at a time, I split the rims, removed the tubes, and reinstalled the tires reversed on the rims. A very tiny touch of dish soap makes it much easier to feed the valve stem through the grommet in the wheel!