What's new
Van's Air Force

Don't miss anything! Register now for full access to the definitive RV support community.

How did you accomplish IFR training: Gauges or Glass?

JoeB

. The other day I made a post hoping to hear how various people accomplished IFR training, using traditional methods in the old production fleet or if they waited for a the RV and completed training on Glass. I also made mention that I owned a Piper I could potentially train in, I have been waiting due to time and money. ( the reason I was really asking)
so the main point was for those with round dial IFR training VS glass training was it worth the money to get the rating in the traditional instruments? OR wait until I have my RV-10 built (I am a RV builder so that is the RV tie in)
I don't want to burn the money and get my IFR rating in my piper only to find that 95% of what I learned needs to be re-taught on the glass that will be in the -10. I know the procedures change but how to interpret just about everything looks like it will be diffrent.
I did mention the piper was for sale and if anyone knew someone in the market, but it was hardly a FOR SALE plug for the sole purpose of posting an ad on the forum.
I am a bit disappointed that my question and discussion was removed after reading all the other "questionable" RV related post that are allowed.
Oh well....
better luck next time I suppose

Joe, I don't remember seeing that thread, and don't remember seeing any deleted threads like that. It could just be my short-term memory. If you would privately e-mail me the text I'd be happy to re-ad the thread. Sorry for any inconveniences. Doug

3:15pm update:
It seems you're getting some answers to your initial questions now, so I went ahead and moved this thread to the instrument flight rules section from the test section. I hope you find that agreeable. Doug

Last edited by a moderator: